Before Saturday, the last time Kansas won back-to-back games against Football Bowl Subdivision competition, came on September 26 and October 10, 2009, with victories against Southern Mississippi and Iowa State.

That team from 2009 was coached by Mark Mangino, who would be fired at the end of the regular season, under the guise of mistreatment by players. Ten years and four head coaches later – five if your interim coach Clint Bowen in 2014 counts – the Jayhawks have done it again. Hey, it took a while for Kansas to have its base.

A decade later, we all say in unison: Break the Jayhawks.

KU followed his road victory against Central Michigan with a 55-14 knuckle from Rutgers, in a matchup of Power Five soil feeds that should be a kind of annual tradition – it's the football equivalent of raising the bumpers at your bowling alley, handicapping the season, so that at least one of these two teams has a good chance to enter the win column in September.

The victory last week was the first of the program on the road since September 12, 2009, ending a NCAA record of 46 consecutive road losses. Meanwhile Saturday's victory was the first victory of the Jayhawks non-conference against a Power Five enemy since September 19, 2009.

It's funny to consider: that 2009 team was a wild disappointment for Kansas, which lost seven in a row after a 5-0 start and quickly saw Mangino's reconstruction project unraveled in a series of confused coaching adjustments. (Remember, this is the program that Charlie Weis hired.) Only after a decade of trouble, a 5-7 finish would look like a light at the end of the tunnel.

Let's enjoy it for Kansas, but do not take the lead. This is still a team that opened its season with a loss for the Nicholls federation of the football championship. The schedule has yet to reach the Big 12 game, which starts next Saturday with a road trip to Baylor. The Jayhawks have not won a road race in the league game since the state at Iowa State on October 4, 2008. Twice under Weis the Jayhawks opened on 2-1, in 2013 and 2014, and both times added only one win to the rest of the game . way.

Fourth-year head coach David Beaty is still a long shot to return in 2019 because of his own track record to date and the change of the university at athletics director. New acquisition Jeff Long, formerly from Arkansas, will almost certainly test the market and look for a new voice to lead Kansas football in December.

Unless KU starts with the completion of the profit, that is. Could it happen? It could be because the Jayhawks have a football team, pads, helmets and are scheduled to play nine more games until the end of the season. Will it happen? Probably not. But records fall. Crazy things have happened – like Kansas did things that had not yet reached this decade.

Auto play

Show thumbnails

Show captions